Go Back   Friends and Family Forum > Around the House > Hobbies and Crafts

Hobbies and Crafts A place for crafting and other hobbies

Old January 6th, 2008, 01:09 PM
future crazy cat lady

snafu has a reputation beyond reputesnafu has a reputation beyond reputesnafu has a reputation beyond reputesnafu has a reputation beyond repute
Hobby- Gardening

Today is really nice- in the 60's (F)! I checked my garden & the strawberries I planted last spring are looking good - and have really spread out! I hope I get more than one strawberry this year. Uninformed as I am I thought I'd get strawberries the same year that I planted them-. I found out later that I did well- LOL.

I'm a total novice & just found out that if I want to grow (try anyway) tomatoes & hot peppers (DH loves homemade salsa) I need to get the seeds started no later than Valentine's Day - pref. by Feb. 1st .

If anyone want to do a "fun" garden with their kid(s), I'd recommend Purple green beans (no- I've not lost it, they really are purple). They're fun for kids, easy to grow & see to pick, & turn green when cooked. If you have a chain link fence Purple King (pole beans)will work. If you don't have something (fence/trellis) for them to climb make sure you get "bush" beans- Purple Queen. Burpee sells them & so do other seed companies.

Last edited by snafu; January 6th, 2008 at 01:11 PM. Reason: note for mods-should hobbies be combined with crafts?
Old January 6th, 2008, 02:23 PM

elaine will become famous soon enough
Re: Hobby- Gardening

Quote:
Originally Posted by snafu
note for mods-should hobbies be combined with crafts?
Great idea, snafu! I changed the name of the forum to include hobbies, and your thread was moved.
Old January 6th, 2008, 02:26 PM

elaine will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by snafu View Post