Go Back   Friends and Family Forum > The Family Forum > Step-families

Old February 7th, 2014, 08:55 AM

WisconsinMama will become famous soon enough
How do I help my stepson with his attitude?

Hi everyone! Newbie here. Sorry if I ramble, I'll try and keep it as to the point as I can.

My husband and I met two and a half years ago, were married a year and a half ago. He had two sons when we met who were 4 and 6 at the time (so now they are 6 and 8). We also had a son together who is now 1.

My stepsons and I got along great at first. But I was also just dad's fun girlfriend at the time. I eased into their family and played games with them and was fun. I still do things with them but it definatley changed the more involved I got. Their bio mom acts very nice to my face but she doesn't like how close they got to me right away. They've told me that anytime they say something nice about me, she'll say something mean. She told them to not like me and only love her. And not to mention she's been telling them lies about their dad and why they broke up. (Which I find just horrible. Why confuse and mess up your 6 and 8 year old sons? My husband has a lot of horrible things he could say about her, but he has never once said a bad word about her. Infact he and I work to make sure we talk good about her and teach the boys to respect her and all people.)

Anyways, I've mainly had issues with my older stepson. The younger one acts up sometimes too, but the older one definiately has some issues. I was aware of them at the start, but they weren't really bad then. He has issues with lieing and being sneaky and being really emotional and having a temper, but I just thought that all kids had their things.