Go Back   Friends and Family Forum > The Family Forum > Other

Other A place to discuss any other family member or have general family discussions

Old September 7th, 2014, 10:48 AM

TheEndHorizon is on a distinguished road
My parents are moving in the middle of my senior year, advice?

I really need some serious advice on this, it would be even better if you've had experience with this. My dad often has to move for his job, but we last moved to where we are currently before my 8th grade year. We lived here for 4+ years, and I have friends and a girlfriends and a life at school and in our school band. My dad originally told me he would make it where we wouldnt have to move until I graduate. But now, my dad got transferred to Los Angeles(2000 miles away), and I don't know what to do. My parents told me that my mom would stay here with me for 7 months until I graduated that, but my mom changed her mind a week or so after they told me that and said it would be too hard on her. I will most likely turn 18 by the time we move, I have good academics, and I have a stable job with an IT company, however, it pays minimum wage. Here are my two option: Move with my parents to LA. My parents found a way I can graduate HS after the first semester and move with them then. They have offered to buy me a better far when we move over there, and bribed me with other things. I would love to move to LA, but I don't want to leave everything else behind. I would rather do it on my own. Other option: my friends parents offered to let me stay at their house until I graduate, and I know my parents wouldn't be okay with that, but I'll be 18. I could stay here and finish my senior year, but possibly without my parents support. I would hope they would still support me monetarily. Advice?